Medical Books

It’s been a while since I wrote a blog… I’ve been at University for about six weeks now so I’ve been really busy! I’m studying Medicine at Southampton University and I’m really enjoying it so far. It’s quite difficult choosing the right textbooks to buy because there’s so many different subjects we cover, and within those subjects there are so many books! I’ve made a start though and I’ve found these books from Oxford University Press very useful during the first few weeks. They cover all areas of medicine – anatomy, diagnosis, history taking etc and are specifically written for medical students and junior doctors.

Oxford Assess and Progress Clinical Medicine and Oxford Assess and Progress Clinical Specialities are great for exam revision – they give you practise questions and explain the answers in detail, also giving reasons why other answers would be wrong.

The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Examination and Practical Skills gives detailed information about history taking, physical examination and other important clinical skills which are learned at University including communication and data interpretation. Each chapter contains relevant pictures and diagrams.

I haven’t really used the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialities yet but I’m sure it will come in useful in the later years of the course when we have placements in all different areas.

Finally, Oxford Cases in Medicine and Surgery is another one which I think will be great later on in the course when we start seeing real patients. It guides you through the diagnosis procedure using potential scenarios.

Other than the excellent content of the books, another good thing is that most of them are nice and small so easily portable, which is something I can’t say for many of the other textbooks I’ve looked at. I’m sure I will get a lot of use out of these books throughout my time in medical school, and even when I’m a qualified doctor.

You can purchase these books and see others Oxford University Press have to offer here.

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

