Queenstown Underwater

Ever since we arrived in Queenstown the rain has been relentlessly pouring and pouring… The lake has risen so high it’s covered the jettys and all the shops have closed because they’re expecting the whole main street to be underwater! So, everyone’s getting pretty excited over here waiting to see what’s going
to happen! I just hope the buses will still be able to run because we’re booked to be going to Milford Sound next week which is supposed to be one of the best things to do in New Zealand.

I survived my bungy jump although at one point I was sure I wouldn’t be able to do it! I never thought I could have been so scared… The bus journey to the canyon where we were bungying was 45 minutes and everyone else was really nervous but I was fine. It wasn’t until I actually saw what we were going to be jumping from that the fear kicked in. I had butterflies in my stomach as we took the cable car over to the
platform which was suspended 134m above the river. There were 22 people in my group and they do the jumps in order of weight starting with the heaviest. I had to watch 19 other people go before me and with each person I became more terrified and thought I wouldn’t be able to bring myself to do it.

When it was my turn to go I didn’t even think about it. The man counted down 5,4,3,2,1 and I just fell forward. It was sooo amazing and I ca’t believe I managed to do it but so glad I did!

This entry was posted in Around the World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Queenstown Underwater

  1. Dad says:

    Feeling queasy just reading about it! Thanks for your call that day – it was amazing to hear you so excited. After my experience on the ride in Parc Aventura a few years ago, I can’t decide whether I do or don’t want to do a bungy! At least with a tandem parachute there’s someone else with you on the way down, but you’re on your own with a bunjy jump. Who knows if I’ll ever be in a position to have to make the decision! Stay dry in the floods! lots of love Dad x

Leave a Reply

